Life in the Real World

Real life experiences after college

2 Posts in 1 October 9, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — jenncollins @ 3:10 pm

Yes, I am going to post about two different subjects because I don’t feel like creating two posts on the same day.

Well, today is my birthday. One thing I’ve found out since I graduated college in ’05 is that birthdays start to suck when you get older. The last great birthday I had was my 21st. My roommates in college bought me a plane ticket to see my then-fiance in Louisville for the weekend. That was literally the best birthday I ever had. They did good! I guess this is just part of growing up…birthdays just don’t seem to be a big deal anymore.

On another note, something I’ve learned in the past week:

Never date any promotional material.

I learned this the hard way. I had these cool footballs made to promote an upcoming sermon series that we are doing at our church called “i am Man”. I thought it would be a cool and different way to do outreach. They came in today and they are pretty cool, I like them a lot and I don’t think our church has ever done anything like this before. However, the caveat here is that the footballs say “starting saturday, october 14th @ 7 p.m.” In order to properly promote and do outreach, I would’ve had to get these in our people’s hands this past weekend. But, because of scheduling and my own stupidity, they will be in people’s hands this weekend, which is when it starts. That means, whoever anyone gives a football to, the date will be in the past and it won’t make any sense.

There’s so much to think about when I’m doing these types of projects. Everything I do is so visible that I have to be careful. So much for that.

There are more mistakes that I made this past week, but it’s my birthday and there’s no reason to upset myself over them again. They are in the past. I’ve just got to learn the lesson: don’t date any promotiona materials.

 

One Response to “2 Posts in 1”

  1. Happy Birthday to you…Happy Birthday to you…

    Happy B-day Jenn!

    I totally know what you mean about not dating stuff… but it’s not so bad… maybe you could make a label or something to put on them that says, ‘it’s not too late to get in the game, join us next weekend!’ haha. (can you tell i’m used to doing things like this all the time?)


Leave a Reply

