Life in the Real World

Real life experiences after college

Resolutions January 24, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — jenncollins @ 5:54 pm

I never do this…in fact, I hate New Years’ resolutions. Everyone who does them rarely if ever keeps them (including me!). However, I did make some unofficial resolutions this year, but I’m not calling them resolutions. Let’s call them goals or “things I’d like to accomplish”…

1. Play tennis. Joel got us tennis rackets and tennis balls for Christmas. He is my new coach! We’ve played a handful of times already and I am really enjoying it! It’s a great aerobic workout and it’s challenging, which I love. I’ve tried running or walking really fast, but I get so bored that I never stick with it. This, I think will stick. I’m a Maria Sharapova in training 🙂

2. Join First Place. What is First Place, you ask? Well, it’s a weight loss plan, but let’s not call it that. It’s really about making God ‘first place’ in your life…everything else, like losing weight, falls into place at that point. I follow the official food pyramid daily (it’s so hard to get those veggies in!) and eat up to 1400 calories on a daily basis. This week we had our second meeting and I lost 2.25  pounds! I’m on the road baby!

3. Old habits can die hard. This includes my horrible eating habits (which I am working on) and my spiritual habits. I am now waking up 30 minutes earlier to start my day healthier, which means eating a balanced breakfast. I’m also trying to get my spiritual life more healthy. So I do a Bible study in the morning and that gets me set and focused for the rest of my day. It’s really been such a blessing to spend that extra time with God every morning. I sit on my balcony, read, and eat. It’s wonderful!

I think that’s about it, but that’s pretty good for me! It’s been a great start to the year so far and I look forward to what else God will do in my life in 2007! 🙂

 

One Response to “Resolutions”

  1. […] @ 8:25 am Back in January (I can’t believe it’s already April!), I posted some Resolutions that I wanted to keep this year. Let’s check up on those, shall […]


Leave a Reply

