Life in the Real World

Real life experiences after college

Good customer service…at the County Government Office? February 26, 2007

Filed under: Customer service — jenncollins @ 9:09 pm

I had a great experience today and it literally blew me away. People who work at County/Governmental offices are notoriously known for bad customer service. I mean, I don’t blame them. They sit in cubicles all day and deal with people who give them attitude. I would hate my job, too.

We went today to our county government office to declare domicile and to apply for homestead exemption. We put enough quarters in the parking meter for almost 2 hours. We were there MAYBE 30 minutes. 30 MINUTES?!

Everyone we talked to, from the security desk to the busy offices, was nice to us and they were helpful. We needed that. We didn’t know what we were doing and we were 2 days from the deadline. They didn’t have to be nice to us. They didn’t have to help. But, they did and we successfully did what we came to do in a short amount of time.

We were both floored as we walked the busy streets to the parking garage. I’ve never done anything with that much success and good customer service…well, maybe I have, but I didn’t expect it!

 

Leave a Reply

