Life in the Real World

Real life experiences after college

Did anyone watch it? April 26, 2007

Filed under: Life — jenncollins @ 10:31 am

Did anyone watch American Idol last night? I was pretty speechless after it was over. The only thing I could think of saying out loud is how stupid I am. I’m here in suburbia in a comfortable condo with everything I need and everyone I love. I worry about things that have no value in the end.

I was shocked by the statistic that every 30 seconds a child is orphaned by AIDS. I mean, wow. American Idol raised over $30 million, which is great.

What we are we (meaning the Church) doing about this? Why aren’t we the ones raising the money and helping? Believe me, I am preaching at myself…

Our worship arts ministry is doing a cool thing this summer. We are helping Blood: Water Mission by raising at least $1,000 to help build wells in Africa. That is just a start.

I don’t really have anything else to say…I’m just trying to think it all out.

 

One Response to “Did anyone watch it?”

  1. […] in the week, I had watched American Idol…where I posted my reactions here. I was so moved by the music…especially the amazing duet between Celine Dion and Elvis […]


Leave a Reply

