Life in the Real World

Real life experiences after college

She thinks my tractor’s sexy.. June 5, 2007

Filed under: Fun stuff,Music — jenncollins @ 10:28 am

There was a time in my life where I ate, slept and breathed country music. It was one of my passions. All my friends liked it. My boyfriend (now husband) hated it. I only listened to 99.9 KISS country…all day, everyday. I went to the Chili Cook-Off: I sat on the lawn of CB Smith Park, smelled smoke and beer all day, watched the drunk people making out by the bathrooms, and many more exciting things for a 15-year-old. I honestly can’t believe my parents let me go with two of my friends by ourselves.

Eight years later…I can’t stand country music. Sometime in high school it hit me. Every song talks about the same thing. Why am I depressed after listening to the lyrics of these songs? (you know what I’m talking about!) It feels good to be on the other side of the redneck world.

I know I will probably get a lot of flak for this, but I’m sorry, I can’t stand country music. There are only certain people that I can still tolerate: Faith Hill, Carrie Underwood, Martina McBride and Rascal Flatts. Even those are pushing it. I had a conversation about this last night with some friends. Their argument was that Christian music all sounds the same and they can’t stand to listen to it.

I’m completely and totally in agreement with you. I can only listen to Christian radio for so long until I’ve heard a song twice in the same hour. It drives me nuts that the popular Christian radio station here in South FL only plays the “top 40” of Christian music. There is so much great music that they aren’t playing! I don’t get it. Are there some kind of radio politics that the rest of us don’t knowvabout?

I’ve always loved to search around for bands and music that no one has heard of yet. I pride myself in knowing about singers and bands before they get their number 1’s played on the radio. It’s a cool feeling to have “discovered” them. Christian radio doesn’t play that stuff. Instead, they’ll play “How to Save a Life” by the Fray 50 times a day and pat themselves on the back for playing a “secular” song.

We should all just switch over to satellite radio so we can listen to whatever we want (they have the coolest radio stations I’ve ever heard and there are so many genres I can’t even count) commercial-free. Let’s boycott the top 40 stations!

What do you guys think? Christian radio? Country music? Top 40 stations? Or just listening to your iPod….your music when you want it?

 

Leave a Reply

