Life in the Real World

Real life experiences after college

My Old Kentucky Home July 5, 2007

Filed under: Life — jenncollins @ 3:11 pm

vacation2007-043-2.jpg

I used to live there a year and a half ago. The Racquet Club located in Lexington, Kentucky. It doesn’t look like much, but it’s special to me. That’s where my husband Joel and I started our new lives together. Tons of memories were made there. Some good, some bad. It was life in a new place. I got to do what some people wish for their whole lives: start over.

I pretty much grew up in the same city. When I was seven we moved from North Miami Beach to Davie, FL (only about 30 minutes north). When I was 18 I moved to Birmingham, AL for college. That’s it. My husband, on the other hand, has moved so many times he can barely count. It’s not hard for him to say goodbye to a house, friends, family, etc. He’s almost calloused by it…he’s just used to leaving.

I think that’s so sad. I don’t do well with change. I like the familiar. However, I was pretty excited to move to a new place (albeit, Kentucky…) and start life over, meet new people and have new adventures with my new husband. The fun and excitement soon died however when my husband started working and I stayed at home. The first month we had no cable or internet. I did a lot of reading, cleaning (a 700 sq ft apartment), and talking to my Mom or anyone who would answer the phone. The highlight of the day was when Joel would come home for lunch for 45 minutes or so.

When we finally got internet and cable, life got a little brighter…sad I know. Joel decided I needed to get out and about in the city…I was pretty depressed everyday. I would drive around Lexington and get lost — some say that’s the best way to find your way around a city. Well that helped a little.

We decided I needed to get a job. I finally found one. We had been going to a church, but weren’t getting connected. We started looking for another one. We found a church plant and helped get them started. It was fun and the excitement finally returned. We made friends. We stopped sitting at home watching Friends re-runs and did substantial things.

Although our time in Lexington was short (about 6 months), it will always hold a special place in our hearts.

Now we’re back in the only place I can truly ever call “home” and loving every moment of it. I often wonder why God allowed us to live there for so short a time. I’m still not sure. Maybe it had something to do with getting me to trust Him and learning to be content wherever I am. I’m sure the lesson will creep up when I’m least expecting it.

 

2 Responses to “My Old Kentucky Home”

  1. Hey Jenn,

    Love the blog! I am somewhat like you and somewhat like your husband. I have moved so many times I probably could not count but each and every time I move I am sad because I will miss people, places, etc.

    Keep up the good writing!
    Gretchin

  2. guy Says:

    hey im so glad you came home. you guys are awewsome. joel you were good on that tape. your behind the camera too much.


Leave a Reply

