Life in the Real World

Real life experiences after college

Adventures with the homeless #1 July 8, 2007

Filed under: Life — jenncollins @ 8:34 pm

OK, so I did something new this weekend. I heard of a group of people from a church down the road who were going out every Friday night to feed the homeless in Downtown Miami/Bayside. Joel and I decided to tag along this past Friday. The group meets at the church at 10 p.m. and we usually get back around 2 a.m. Why so late? Good question! I asked the same thing as I was yawning every 5 minutes!

In the downtown area, the homeless are shooed away by the police and building owners. At night, they are able to rest and sleep pretty much wherever they want. Also, usually we aren’t doing anything between 10 p.m. and 2 a.m., so it’s a perfect time to go! Basically, we make PB&J’s and buy water bottles. The group that has put this together has a route around the downtown area where there are “hot spots”, if you will. Since everyone is sleeping, we just walk up and lay down the sandwiches and water and pray that the food will still be there when they wake up.

I am planning on going every Friday and I want to blog about my experiences. My husband, along with a couple other guys, are going to make documentary of it, so I’ll probably be talking a lot about that, too.

As for this post, I will just say that it was an “experience”. I’ve seen plenty of homeless people…we all have. But it was so different to see them sleeping. There were only 2-3 people out of the 30 or so that we ministered to that were awake. Everyone else was sound asleep in the huge downtown area where the Metrorail is above them, major highways are also above them…and they are in a deep sleep. It boggled my mind that they could sleep through all the noise. I was waiting for one of them to jump awake when they heard our car doors slam or something. Nada. They were just sleeping.

I don’t really know how to describe the emotion I felt when I saw groups of people sleeping. Each one had claimed his/her own spot. Everything they own is right beside them. Some of them had all their clothes on, some of them just had shorts on. I just can’t put it into words. It affected me deeply.

When we returned home around 2 a.m. and climbed into our king-sized feather bed, I couldn’t help but think of the people we saw earlier…lying on the sidewalk on a piece of cardboard. I thanked God for His blessings and felt so unworthy of them.

 

Leave a Reply

