Life in the Real World

Real life experiences after college

Adventures with the Homeless #2 July 10, 2007

Filed under: Blogging,Life — jenncollins @ 4:54 pm

I am on such a high right now. I’ve wanted to share this for over a week now, but I wanted to wait for my friend Sherry to share her story on Facebook. Well, she finally did today! It goes along with my post about the 30-day challenge from Mark Batterson and feeding the homeless last week.

Having read my “church in the car” post, Sherry decided to take on the 30-day challenge for herself. Well, I’ll let her tell you (p.s. Warren is our mutual friend):

Ok..I guess it’s about time to tell my story. First of all, if you haven’t read Jenn Collins’ blog on here called ‘Church in the Car’, you need to..it’s really good! In her blog, she mentions that the pastor she was listening to in the car challenged the congregation with a 30 day challenge. He said to pick one thing that you want to pray about and pray for it for 30-days. Before any of this happened, Warren had challenged me with really sticking with my devotions. Before him, I hadn’t done devotions in probably a year. So, I started off just reading a devo book and reading the bible and keeping a journal. I had the worst attitude going into it, thinking I don’t really have time for this..I’ll take maybe 5 minutes and do this. Little did I know that God was already working in my life in an amazing way. I thought about what I would pray for during the 30-day challenge. I thought about praying for a husband, I thought about praying for myself and the things I was going through, but I started to think about it and I just didn’t want to pray for anything like that. Instead, I would pray that I could somehow make some sort of an impact in the life of another person or even the world (yeah i was thinking big=)). So, I started praying that the Lord would use me to make any sort of impact. Even if that meant taking me out of my comfort zone and putting me in a situation where I can be used to further the Kingdom of Heaven, that is my ultimate goal..to lead others to our Creator! I started the challenge on Wed, June 27th. On Friday, June 29th, I got out of work and saw there was a text message on my phone. It was Warren and all the message said was: do you want to go with me to feed the homeless tonight? I about dropped my phone! I was amazed that in such a short time God had answered my prayer and in such an unbelievable way! I, of course, told Warren yes and we went that night and fed sandwiches to homeless people laying on the street in Bayside. It was incredible, an extremely sad and humbling time. The experience touched both Warren and me and since then he has completely taken off with the whole idea of helping out the homeless. He’s doing amazing things and God is using both of us to help just make some sort of a dent in the world and in turn hopefully bringing more people to follow Christ Jesus as their Lord and Savior. Since then, I have gone back again and Jenn and Joel Collins went with us. It was humbling once again. If you read this and you feel compelled to help out or you feel the Holy Spirit tugging at your heart, please don’t hesitate to contact me about it! We could always use more people to go there with us. Warren is doing amazing things with this and this will hopefully become a HUGE ministry. If you would like to get involved, let me know or if you would like to start a 30-day challenge, go right ahead, all you have to do is start praying! I’m still continuing to do my daily devotions and asking God to continue to use me during this time.

I’m so stinkin proud of her and so excited about what God is doing in her life. I love stories of life change, especially when they happen to my best friend! God is good!

 

One Response to “Adventures with the Homeless #2”

  1. Heidi Says:

    Wow. Totally awesome story. I would love to be a part of this guys so please let me know how I can get involved.


Leave a Reply

