Life in the Real World

Real life experiences after college

Getting out of the bubble July 26, 2007

Filed under: Life,Music,Worship — jenncollins @ 12:51 pm

This is my heart. Hear me out. 

I’ve been thinking about music a lot lately. I’m pretty picky about what I will listen to. Most of the time I listen to Christian music. Lately, though, I’ve started to not like it as much. Don’t get me wrong…Christian music is awesome. I love worshipping to songs by Chris Tomlin, Dave Crowder, Charlie Hall, etc. Most female Christian artists have really inspired me. But there are some Christian artists that get air time on the radio and I really don’t understand why.

Here’s my thing: if I were ever able to record my music for the world to hear I really don’t think I would sign with a Christian label. Why? Because the Christians have already been reached. What about the rest of the world?

As Christians, sometimes I feel like we live in this bubble and we never get out. Trust me, I like the bubble. I feel safe in the bubble. But I know I need to get out of the bubble and make some kind of impact on the world.

I don’t know many non-Christians who will turn on Christian radio just to listen. Christian radio is for Christians, am I right?

I have always thought this way. I love it when I hear Christian singers on a secular radio station. It doesn’t happen often, but when it does, I think it’s great. Jars of Clay had a song that the top 40 station would play all the time. It’s weird to me that Christian stations have started playing The Fray. I don’t get it.

That’s my desire; to have the secular world hear my heart and be encouraged by my music. I don’t know if that will ever happen or how I would try to convince Sony or some other label to sign me….But I really feel like God has put this on my heart and He would make it happen.

I don’t want to sing for the Christians. No offense, but there are people who need Jesus and my music will be for them. Look out American Idol, here I come! 🙂

 

3 Responses to “Getting out of the bubble”

  1. klampert Says:

    ha…great post….perfect.

  2. Amber Cox Says:

    Hi Jenn! I’m with you on this! I think we need more bands outside of the Christian Label so people who need to know Jesus will listen in the first place!

  3. Cultural Savage Says:

    Ok, so I just stumbled upon your blog, and I don’t mean to be “that guy”, but I gotta say a few things about this post.

    I agree whole hearted with your sentiment. There are actually quite a few artists that have saving faith and don’t do the whole CCM thing. Their music is an expression of their life, and their faith is a part of that. But, to truly be “out of the bubble” I think we need to embrace all of life, even the parts that the Christian bubble thinks isn’t really worth our time. Be very aware that most people in the Church arn’t going to understand your desire because “Christians shouldn’t be associated with the world” or something like that.

    Second, I can’t help but think that there is something wrong with the statement, “I love worshipping to songs by Chris Tomlin, Dave Crowder, Charlie Hall, etc.” It just strikes me as a wrong association that music is worship. I know, I’m probably just being the theology geek that I am, but music is an expression of worship and one small (but powerful) tool to help us bring our hearts back to a place of worship. But so is food, friendship, beauty, sorrow, and all aspects of life that have some sort of goodness and/or grace in it.

    Ok, sorry for being such a random guy leaving a comment, but I just had to.

    Blessings in Christ!


Leave a Reply

