Life in the Real World

Real life experiences after college

The last AI update.. August 22, 2007

Filed under: American Idol,Fun stuff,Music — jenncollins @ 7:36 pm

Yes, sadly, my American Idol adventures were cut short! But it’s all good…it was a fun experience and one I will never forget!! What a freak show! It was funny just to people-watch!

There’s stuff I want to share that I can’t yet and I have pictures and video to put up! I’ll probably get to that tomorrow. I’ve been up since 3:45 a.m. so I’m going to bed.

One thing before I leave…I must’ve sent out 50+ text messages to all my friends between Monday and today keeping them updated about what’s been going on with my audition. One of my dear friends replied with this:

“aw sorry Jenn. I guess you’ll just have to stay at church and sing instead of becoming a star! :)”

There’s nothing wrong with that statement. I would be perfectly fine to sing at church for the rest of my life. My gift is from God; who better to use it for than the church?? However (in no way am I mad at this person for saying that comment…she is an amazing person in my life and I didn’t take it personally!), I don’t want to limit myself. Just because I didn’t make American Idol doesn’t mean a thing. Sure, it would’ve been a lot easier to get myself out there, but that doesn’t matter. If God wants me to share my gift to the world, He’ll make it happen. I have no doubts. I’m always open to opportunities and that’s how I saw American Idol: an opportunity to sing and let God use me! And that’s exactly what it was. I’m so thankful for the chance and the memories with great friends and an awesome husband who stuck by me through the ungodly hours and Miami heat!! 🙂 Look for me on TV when the show starts in January…I should at least be shown in the clips for the group song and cheers we did!!

p.s. I’ve gotta be honest with you guys…I sang “Anyway” by Martina McBride for my audition and when I started singing in front of the producers, my mind went absolutely blank. It was a miserable experience. I’m still trying to get over how I embarassed myself!

 

4 Responses to “The last AI update..”

  1. Gabi Murray Says:

    Jenn, you’ll always be our star!

    Gabi

  2. Vanessa Cook Says:

    Jenn,

    I think you are very brave…I would have done the same thing…I sing on line for worship and I forget.

    I am proud of you. And have always seen you as an inspiration & full of great talent!

    Hugs,
    Vanessa

  3. Tonia Says:

    Hey girl,
    You are still our American Idol! I’m so glad you sang Anyway, by Martina. I was going to suggest that one, but you didn’t ask me! I LOVE that song! Yu go girl!

  4. Faithe Says:

    Jen,
    We appreciate your sweet spirit and your ministry here at our church. We know God has big plans for you because of your willingness and availability.
    Love to my second daughter,

    Faithe


Leave a Reply

