Life in the Real World

Real life experiences after college

A jet just flew by… September 11, 2007

Filed under: Life — jenncollins @ 3:25 pm

I think a jet just flew over our offices and it kind of scared me for a minute. Then I remembered what day it was and that’s why a jet was flying over.

I was a month away from turning 18. I was a senior in high school, but I was dual enrolled at BCC (the community college). I was walking to my english class when my Mom called me and told me a plane had hit the World Trade Center and the Pentagon. I didn’t really believe her and I didn’t think it was a big deal. My Mom tends to overreact and she was just telling me to be careful…being a Mom. I called a friend to see if he was OK and he stayed home from school that day. He told me what had happened…he saw the entire thing on TV. Then I started freaking out. I went to class thinking it would be cancelled, but it wasn’t. In fact, the professor didn’t even mention what had happened…everyone in the class knew and he just ignored it. I guess he was just trying to stay on topic.

Along with everything that happened on 9/11, my senior year was a bad year. My longtime boyfriend (who is now my husband!) broke up with me, my brother made some decisions that hurt my family and my Dad was diagnosed with depression and started taking medication. With all of that bundled into one year and trying to pick a college, it was just rough.

But when I think about how rough it was for me, I can’t even imagine how bad it was for the victims of 9/11 and their families. I have no room to complain.

I don’t understand God’s sovereignty all the time, but I know that He is sovereign. He is in control. Sometimes things happen that no one can explain, but for me, everything happens for a reason.

 

Leave a Reply

