Life in the Real World

Real life experiences after college

I can’t get this song out of my head… January 27, 2008

Filed under: Music,Worship — jenncollins @ 12:54 pm

I used to be a BIG Jennifer Knapp fan when I was in high school. I think because she is someone I could really look up to at the time. For those who don’t know, she is a Christian music artist who sounds similar to Melissa Etheridge. She plays guitar and to me, she seemed like a rock star. She hasn’t had an album recently (I think her last one was in like 2001 or something), but check her out…you won’t be disappointed.

Anyway, recently I found a live album that she recorded in 2006. I had never heard a song she wrote called “Martyrs and Thieves” so I downloaded it and I have been hooked ever since and I’m trying to learn to play it on the guitar. This is my “lifesong” right now. Enjoy…and download the song!

VERSE 1: 

There’s a place in the darkness that I used to cling to

It presses harsh hope against time

In the absence of martyrs there’s a presence of thieves

Who only want to rob you blind

They steal away any sense of peace

Though I’m a king I’m a king on my knees

And I know they are wrong when they say I am strong

As the darkness covers me

BRIDGE:

So turn on the light and reveal all the glory

I am not afraid

To bare all my weakness knowing in meekness

I have a kingdom to gain

CHORUS:

Where there is peace and love in the light in the light

Oh I am not afraid

To let Your light shine bright in my life in my life

Oh I… am,          I…

VERSE 2:

There are ghosts from my past who’ve owned more of my soul

Than I thought I had given away

They linger in closets and under my bed

And in pictures less proudly displayed

A great fool in my life I have been

Have squandered till pallid and thin

Hung my head in shame and refused to take blame

For darkness I know I’ve let win

REPEAT BRIDGE AND CHORUS

TAG:

Can you hear me? (4x)

VERSE 3:

Well I’ve never been much for the baring of soul

In the presence of any man

I’d rather keep to myself all safe and secure

In the arms of a sinner I am

Could it be that my worth should depend

By the crimson stained grace on a hand

And like a lamp on a hill Lord I pray in Your will

To reveal all of You that I can

REPEAT BRIDGE AND CHORUS

OUTRO:

There’s a place in the darkness that I used to cling to

It presses harsh hope against time

 

2 Responses to “I can’t get this song out of my head…”

  1. TWO weeks without shaving, huh? LOL

    “Martyrs & Thieves” is my fave J.Knapp song… i actually had the opportunity to ask her what her inspiration for writing was. (if i remember correctly) she said it had something to do with being on stage in front of people who didn’t know what her life was like off stage…..

    as someone in ministry i can relate!

  2. jenncollins Says:

    ha, yes, it is shameful and ridiculous. wow, that is awesome that you got to ask her about that! way to be real.


Leave a Reply

