Life in the Real World

Real life experiences after college

My MawMaw February 13, 2008

Filed under: Family,Life — jenncollins @ 4:11 pm

I’d like to introduce you all to my grandmother: Sara (more affectionately: MawMaw). She’s a 75-year-old cancer survivor and one of the best grandmothers I know. She’s a fighter. She was once hit by a car in North Miami Beach on her way to Publix. She has never met a stranger. If you sit down with her she’ll tell you her whole life story along with everyone’s story in our family. But she won’t just talk, she’ll listen, too. She’s always happy and will tell anyone about Jesus.

She’s got cancer again and tried to fight it out…again. In November we found out there’s nothing else the doctor’s can do. They told us we have months (we don’t know how many). I love this woman with all my heart and soul…she has influenced me in more ways than she will ever know. I have been begging God to heal her and let her stay around for a while longer. I need her. I honestly can’t imagine what my life will be like when she’s gone.

This is just another part of living in the ‘real world’ and growing up, I suppose.

Sorry for being so depressing but I just needed to share what was going on. If you think of us, please pray for her, my Grandpa and our family.

Here are some pictures of my most recent trip to see her with my Mom. We went to have tea! 🙂

100_1284-2.jpg

100_1288-2.jpg

100_1291-2.jpg

100_1292-2.jpg

100_1300-2.jpg

100_1302-3.jpg

 

4 Responses to “My MawMaw”

  1. guy Says:

    That was sweet. Im praying for all of you.
    Guy

  2. Jen Says:

    My grandma was one of the greatest influences in my life too. She was a prayer warrior. She was one of those people that if she was praying for you and your request, you hoped she was praying the way you want the request to be answered because it’s like she had a special ‘in’ with God…I miss her. Anyway, I know exactly how you feel. I will definitely pray for your Mawmaw, you, and your family.

  3. AWWWW!!!!!

    i LOVE the hats!

  4. Jen Says:

    Happy Valentine’s Day!!


Leave a Reply

