Life in the Real World

Real life experiences after college

So, I have some news… April 16, 2008

Filed under: Blogging,Family,Fun stuff,Life — jenncollins @ 2:01 pm

I know it has been FOREVER since I posted a blog and it’s kind of weird to say “sorry” so I won’t say that. I guess I will just say that I’ve missed it! But I have been a little busy.

You may remember my New Years’ post with my resolutions. Well one of them (among some others) has been met. Look at #3 specifically! Then come back.

OK, yes it’s true! I’M PREGNANT! I wish that my last name was still Rizzo so I could say “Rizzo’s got a bun in the oven” (from Grease) but I had to go and get married and change my incredibly cool last name to something as common as Collins. Anyway, I digress.

I never thought the day would come. Not that I was waiting for the day…it’s just that being pregnant is so surreal to me. I was never the girl growing up that always wanted to be a Mother. Of course I had dolls and would play “house” but I was just never that girl whose goal in life was to have kids & be a Mom. If that is you, please don’t take offense! It’s just not me. I knew I would have kids someday and now it’s here. It’s still crazy to think about. Just a warning: a lot of my posts these days will probably have to do a lot with being pregnant/being a Mom, etc so be prepared! I have a lot to say!

Ok, so details. I am 9 weeks pregnant tomorrow (Thurs). My due date is Nov 20. I am going to find out the sex of the baby. I’ve had 3 ultrasounds, I have 3 pictures and I’ve heard the heartbeat twice! I have been sick for 3 weeks. Not throwing up, just severely nauseous, which is almost worse, I think. I’ve lost 10 pounds which isn’t great but it’s normal and also nice to start off small because I know I will be gaining more!

I’ll post more later, but welcome me back to the blogworld…I have returned!! 🙂

 

8 Responses to “So, I have some news…”

  1. Jen Says:

    Two things:

    1. CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I am so excited for you. Yes, I wish you could’ve told me but at least I heard it from your husband and not somebody else. Yay! I’m so happy for you guys. I made him give me a high five. Not sure how he felft about it…

    2. I’m so glad you’re back. I’ve missed you in the blogging world, but even more in the real world. I’m singing this weekend. Are you feeling well enough? I’m so glad you’re on the mend. No fun to be nauseous, but kinda fun to lose 10 lbs…

  2. Amber Cox Says:

    Jenn! This is such wonderfully incredible news! I am so excited for you! I love reading your blog – and think it will be quite entertaining to read your thoughts on pregnancy and motherhood – since I too am not one of those girls who has always dreamed of being Suzie Homemaker :o)

    Congrats!!

  3. oh2btigger Says:

    I don’t know you, but congratulations on your new wonder!

  4. Oh my goodness! Congratulations! I bet your mom is SO excited! How did you tell her? (That’s gotta be a great story! I’d love to hear it sometime…) MY mom is going to be so excited, too! She really bonded with Joel when he stayed with them that summer. (She calls him her “summer son” and he called her the Moose Mom.) Well, I happen to be going to her house soon so James can play there this afternoon. I may have to just let her see your blog… =o) Love you guys!

  5. Laura Says:

    I finally have the time to catch up on my google reader and finally read your announcement officially. I’m very excited for you and I can’t wait for all the pregnant/mom posts. Very fun!!

  6. guy Says:

    Ok, Ive already congratulated you. But I hadnt even noticed you had blogged, until tonight. Glad your back. But as the only GUY who has commented, I want you to know, This stuff is boring to me. So while I want you to keep blogging, I probably will leave the comments to the ladies. We love you and Im glad your feeling. better. See you in about 20 years!!!
    Guy

  7. becagirl Says:

    Congratulations Jenn! Your gonna be a totally awesome mom! 😀


Leave a Reply

