Life in the Real World

Real life experiences after college

Everything’s changing May 5, 2008

Filed under: 1,Blogging,Family,Life,pregnancy — jenncollins @ 3:51 pm

I used to have another blog when I was in college. I’m not giving the link because it was pretty embarassing. Anyway, I stumbled upon it a few weeks ago and saw this post I wrote a couple of weeks before my wedding (june 2005). I talked about how my life had rapidly changed from college life to graduation to single life to about-to-get-married life! Here’s an excerpt:

My life these days has rapidly shifted from waking up, going to class, lunch in the Caf with my wonderful friends, homework, constant access to internet, dinners out to Moe’s and Panera, study sessions at Barnes and Noble, my messy roommate and best friend, buying Pizza Hut at 10 p.m., people jumping on pogo sticks, reading on the quad, dreading convo, weird Alabama weather, being completely independent, getting away with almost anything, Blue Monkey, Dave’s, talking about swimming in the fountain, Chili’s, Friday’s, 2nd West girls, Suite H girls, Southern hospitality, the simple life, writing papers, working on the newspaper, mooching off my grandparents, scraping for quarters to do my laundry…to….

back home in my paradise, waking up when I want to, being my Mom’s slave, constantly running errands and working on wedding stuff, writing thank you notes, missing Joel with every fiber of my being, reading for pleasure (I almost forgot what that was like!) spending time with my amazing family, cooking, playing with my dog, shopping, spending time with my childhood friends, wondering what I will do with my life, taking in the life I used to live and how much things have changed, wondering how much more life will change…this is what I do day to day.

I decided I don’t like such rapid change. And I miss Joel.

When I reread that, I had to laugh at myself. Wow, I had it so great! However, I know I’m at the right place at the right time in my life right now. I also think of how things are on the brink of changing ALL OVER AGAIN for me. Three years ago I would’ve laughed if you told me I would be pregnant right now. I always said I’d wait five years after I got married. It’s funny how my outlook has changed. I know God has changed my heart and I’m excited to see where He’ll take me from here and how He’ll take me through all the changes. The best is yet to come!

 

2 Responses to “Everything’s changing”

  1. Kim Glass Says:

    Jennifer! Yes I am a blog lurker, I admit it! I found yours and loved going down memory lane with you at Samford! Congratulations to you and Joel! You’ll be great parents- don’t worry about it all just enjoy each day of the process! Tell you Mom hi for me and read our blog about the adoption if you want! Since you didn’t have to change diapers when you babysat Drew- you can surely change Lindsay’s if you want! That’s all I do these days! But I love it!
    Blessings to you!

  2. Jen Says:

    I want you to do a third entry of what you life is now and then a fourth after you’ve had the baby. That could be really funny to compare.

    I loved this post!


Leave a Reply

