Life in the Real World

Real life experiences after college

Coca-Cola Cake: you NEED to make this July 21, 2008

Filed under: Food,Fun stuff,Random — jenncollins @ 12:16 pm

I’m feeling generous…and apparently quite HUNGRY so I’m sharing a free recipe with you all. Unfortunately I did not create this unbelievably scrumptous cake (it combines two of my favorite things: a cake with Coke in it=revolutionary!). I got it from a quaint tea house in Louisville, KY from one of their cookbooks (I wish I could remember the name of said quaint tea house, but like I said earlier, I can’t remember squat).

Anyway, here it is: The Revolutionary Cake aka Coca-Cola Cake (wish I had pictures…but I NEED A CAMERA!)

Chocolate cake

  • 18.25 oz pkg white cake mix
  • 4 T unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 8 T (1 stick) butter, melted
  • 1 C Coca-Cola (the recipe says any “cola” will do…but I must disagree…it has to be Coca-Cola brand or nothing…none of that Pepsi stuff or off-brands)
  • 1/2 C buttermilk
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 t pure vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 C miniature marshmallows

Chocolate frosting

  • 8 T (1 stick) butter
  • 4 T unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/3 C Coca-Cola (same note as above…)
  • 4 C powdered sugar
  • 1 C pecans, chopped (optional – I’m not a big fan of nuts in my cake, but if you are, go for it!)
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease 9-by-13 inch baking pan.
  2. In a large mixing bowl, mix all of the cake ingredients together save the marshmallows. Beat well, until no lumps remain. Fold the marshmallows into the batter.
  3. Pour the batter into greased baking pan. Bake 40-42 minutes. The cake will begin to pull away from the sides of the pan. Allow the cake to cool for about 15 minutes before frosting.
  4. Meanwhile, make the frosting. Place the butter in a large saucepan over medium heat. As butter melts, stir in the cocoa powder and Coca-Cola. Continue stirring until the edges begin to boil; remove the frosting from heat at this point.
  5. If the saucepan is big enough, stir the powdered sugar into the frosting. If necessary, transfer the frosting to a large mixing bowl and then add the powdered sugar. The final mixture should appear glossy and smooth. Fold the pecans into the frosting.
  6. Pour the frosting over the partially cooled cake. Allow the cake and frosting to cool entirely before serving, about 30 minutes.

Serves 12-16

Keep at room temperature for up to 1 week.

I know you’ll love this. Let me know when/if you make it!

 

3 Responses to “Coca-Cola Cake: you NEED to make this”

  1. QOTW Says:

    I’m going to try it soon. Thanks a bunch for the great recipe.

    QOTW

  2. i’ve heard of this. on our honeymoon, we picked up a southern cookbook heralding ALL coca-cola recipes. cake, soup (yes), fried chicken, etc etc etc.

    unfortunately, i haven’t tried a SINGLE recipe!

  3. […] tried my recipes yet? Let me […]


Leave a Reply

