Life in the Real World

Real life experiences after college

Mighty to Save August 12, 2008

Filed under: Church,Family,Music,pregnancy,Worship — jenncollins @ 9:47 am

I sing on the worship team every weekend at my church and last weekend I felt worship went especially well. Not sure what it was but people seemed to be more into it. It was awesome to watch.

For me personally, it was an amazing time of worship. I was moved to tears a couple of times. We did some great songs that fit our current teaching series perfectly. At the end, we sang a song called “Mighty to Save” by Hillsong. This is my new favorite. The first time we sang it, the words of the song didn’t really sink in till about the 2nd or 3rd service. It’s been a few weeks since then. This past weekend, the words came alive and they mean more to me than ever.

Savior, He can move the mountains
My God is mighty to save
He is mighty to save
Forever, author of salvation
He rose and conquered the grave
Jesus conquered the grave

It hit me how strong those words are. If I sing them, I really need to believe that God is indeed mighty to save. Without going into a lot of detail, “he can move the mountains” is huge in my life. I believe God moved a mountain when he decided we were going to have a baby this year. He’s currently moving a mountain by allowing my Grandmother to live through her terminal cancer, but not only live, she is thriving. And, when I sing those lines, I always pray that he will move a mountain in some extremely important people in my life. People who, it seems, won’t ever be moved. Is God really mighty to save? It takes all the courage and strength inside me to sing those words. I trust Him to do what He says He will do.

After all, he rose and conquered the grave.

 

3 Responses to “Mighty to Save”

  1. Miriam Says:

    I love that song, too, Jenn! It’s really hard to be on the worship team when we sing it … because I almost inevitably tear up. And yes, He IS mighty to save!!!

  2. Jen Says:

    Wow. Great post. Sad I missed the worship. I love that song. It’s also my new favorite.

  3. mmmm…. this is one of my current favorites. (are worship leaders allowed to have favorites?)… anyway. the first line: everyone needs compassion. that’s it right there.


Leave a Reply

