Life in the Real World

Real life experiences after college

My creation… August 20, 2008

Filed under: Food,Food Network,Fun stuff,pregnancy — jenncollins @ 7:35 pm

Well dinner tonight was interesting. Because half my brain isn’t functioning (thank you, pregnancy), I thought I had laid out a pork loin for dinner. I was planning on pork with roasted potatoes and onions. When I got home, I saw chicken in the sink. Somehow I thought pork and laid out chicken instead…weird! So, I had to change my plans. I still wanted to use the potatoes but when I opened the bag, there were bugs in it!! Ugh it was disgusting. I guess the potatoes were a little too old.

I looked on foodnetwork.com for a little inspiration and saw a recipe for lemon chicken w/ pasta. It sounded good to me but I didn’t have all the ingredients and thought I would try to make it on my own. So I made a recipe from scratch with stuff in my pantry and fridge that I wanted to get rid of. The result? Deliciousness. It was actually very good!! The recipe is below. Some of the measurements are approximate because I ended up not measuring anything but just threw stuff in. If you know me at all, you know that I like to follow a recipe to the “T”, so this is very unlike me, but I am proud of me! 🙂 Let me know if you make it!

 

Lemon Pepper Chicken in a Sherry Vinegar Sauce with Roasted Onions

1 medium onion
Olive oil
3-4 chicken breasts pounded thin
1 egg
1 T water
1 T Dijon mustard
Flour to dredge chicken
3 T lemon pepper seasoning
1 C chicken stock
1 C sherry vinegar
3 cloves garlic minced
1 T honey
ÂĽ C lemon juice
1 tsp thyme
1 tsp parsley

Cut onion up into half moons. Place on baking sheet. Season with salt & pepper and drizzle w/ olive oil. Roast in a 450 degree oven until translucent and browned.

Heat a pan over medium-high heat with olive oil to coat the pan. Pound chicken breasts very thin. In a small dish, combine 1 egg, a little water and the mustard. In another dish, combine flour with lemon pepper seasoning. Dip chicken in egg mixture, then flour mixture. Sauté each chicken breast…just brown it on both sides, you don’t have to cook all the way through. Set aside and keep warm.

After sautéing, pour chicken stock in the same pan and use a wooden spoon to get all the bits off the bottom of the pan. Add sherry vinegar, garlic, honey, lemon juice, thyme, and parsley. Heat to boiling. Add chicken back in and cook on low covered for about 10 minutes or so.

Serve with couscous, pasta, or rice and whatever else. Put chicken on a serving dish and pour sauce over it. Top it with the roasted onions. Serve and enjoy!

 

2 Responses to “My creation…”

  1. guy Says:

    Sounds like a tues. leadership lunch to me!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. […] fridge and your freezer. This is priceless to me because I never know what is right (hence, the bugs in my potatoes a few weeks back!). I’m always calling my Mom and asking “If I bought this ground […]


Leave a Reply

