Life in the Real World

Real life experiences after college

When to throw out last week’s casserole… September 3, 2008

Filed under: Blogging,Food,Fun stuff — jenncollins @ 3:47 pm

 

I love Real Simple Magazine. I don’t subscribe or anything, I just like to buy one every now and then when I have a few extra bucks. I was so happy today when I found out that Real Simple blogs! I subscribed to all of them and I am so excited to get little tidbits of advice, tips and common sense answers to my unorganization.

I was reading the “food” blog earlier and found a link to a great chart that tells you how long you can keep food in your fridge and your freezer. This is priceless to me because I never know what is right (hence, the bugs in my potatoes a few weeks back!). I’m always calling my Mom and asking “If I bought this ground turkey on Monday, is it OK to eat it today (Thursday)?” The answer is no.

I usually find myself bending down in my fridge with the garbage can next to me throwing food (and $$) away because of my carelessness. I hate it about myself, but maybe the chart will help me! I want to print out a copy and stick on my fridge so I always know what is safe to eat.

Do you have any horror stories of leftover food in your fridge? Tell me about it!

 

One Response to “When to throw out last week’s casserole…”

  1. Jen Says:

    I just cleaned out my pantry and had 8 bags of trash. So wasteful and yet I need to get rid of it. Hopefully, now that the roommates are gone, it won’t build up like that again. I hate clutter.


Leave a Reply

